NEXCOM to Distribute Free Phone Cards to Deployed Sailors, Marines This Holiday

By Kristine M. Sturkie,
Navy Exchange Service Command Public Affairs

VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. (NNS) -- This holiday season, the Navy Exchange Service Command (NEXCOM) is again giving away free $10 phone cards to Sailors and Marines away from their homeports and those forward deployed to overseas ports during the holiday season.

"NEXCOM is honored to be giving free phone cards to Sailors and Marines deployed and away from home this holiday season," said Thomas Harris, program manager in NEXCOM's Telecommunications Program Office. "NEXCOM has been giving away free phone cards over the holidays for many, many years. This is our way of thanking our service members and their families for the sacrifices they make while in service to our country."

The $10 AT&T prepaid phone cards can be used via the Afloat Personal Telecommunications Service system, the ship's Plain Old Telephone Service (POTS) system, or ashore in the United States or any foreign port where AT&T has a presence. NEXCOM will distribute 32,500 free phone cards this holiday season.

The 62 ships and submarines which will receive the free phone cards are aircraft carriers USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN 69) and USS Ronald Reagan (CVN 76); amphibious assault ships USS Wasp (LHD 1), USS Bonhomme Richard (LHD 6), and USS Makin Island (LHD 8); amphibious transport docks USS San Antonio (LPD 17), USS Green Bay (LPD 20), and USS Somerset (LPD 25); amphibious dock landing ships USS Whidbey Island (LSD 41), USS Germantown (LSD 42), USS Comstock (LSD 45), and USS Ashland (LSD 48); guided-missile cruisers USS Antietam (CG 54), USS San Jacinto (CG 56), USS Lake Champlain (CG 57), USS Monterey (CG 61), USS Chancellorsville (CG 62), USS Shiloh (CG 67), and USS Port Royal (CG 73); guided-missile destroyers USS Barry (DDG 52), USS Curtis Wilbur (DDG 54), USS Stout (DDG 55); USS John S. McCain (DDG 56), USS Fitzgerald (DDG 62), USS Stethem (DDG 63), USS Carney (DDG 64), USS Benfold (DDG 65), USS Hopper (DDG 70), USS Ross (DDG 71), USS Donald Cook (DDG 75), USS Porter (DDG 78), USS Roosevelt (DDG 80), USS McCampbell (DDG 85), USS Mason (DDG 87), USS Mustin (DDG 89), USS Nitze (DDG 94), USS Sampson (DDG 102), USS Wayne E. Meyer (DDG 108), and USS Michael Murphy (DDG 112); attack submarines USS Jacksonville (SSN 699), USS Pittsburgh (SSN 720), USS Chicago (SSN 721), USS Key West (SSN 722), USS Oklahoma City (SSN 723), USS Louisville (SSN 724), USS Helena (SSN 725), USS Topeka (SSN 754), USS Columbus (SSN 762), USS Santa Fe (SSN 763), USS Cheyenne (SSN 773), USS New Mexico (SSN 779), and USS California (SSN 781); U.S. 6th Fleet command and control ship USS Mount Whitney (LCC 20); and patrol coastal ships USS Tempest (PC 2), USS Hurricane (PC 3), USS Monsoon (PC 4), USS Typhoon (PC 5), USS Sirocco (PC 6), USS Squall (PC 7), USS Chinook (PC 9), USS Firebolt (PC 10), USS Whirlwind (PC 11), and USS Thunderbolt (PC 12).