Eight U.S. Army Air Forces personnel to receive the POW Medal

Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. Mark A. Welsh III will present the Prisoner of War Medal to eight World War II era U.S. Army Air Forces personnel during a ceremony at the Pentagon auditorium, Wednesday, April 30 at 10 a.m. EDT.

The Secretary of the Air Force Deborah Lee James authorized the award of the POW Medal to 143 USAAF airmen who were interned in the Wauwilermoos, Switzerland, prison camp during World War II. 


Eight recipients, listed below, will travel to the Pentagon to receive the award:

            Lieutenant Colonel (retired) James I. Misuraca

            Major (retired) James V. Moran

            First Lieutenant Paul J. Gambaiana

            First Lieutenant James F. Mahon

            Technical Sergeant Alva H. Moss

            Staff Sergeant John M. Fox

            Sergeant William G. Blackburn

            Sergeant George E. Thursby

Media wishing to attend the ceremony will be picked up at the River Entrance only.  Please call Air Force Public Affairs at 703-695-0640 for escort into the building. Plan to arrive no later than 45 minutes prior to the event; have proof of affiliation and two forms of photo identification.  For more information and details of the ceremony, please call 703-697-4162.

 [ ]